One, two

Getting ready to start psychotherapy with my first patient. I've done some supportive therapy and a LOT of talking, but this is the big stuff, the stuff I like, the stuff that brought me to this field. And since I would Never disclose to this to a patient, or even to my attending supervisor, I'm going to blog it..

I'm scared.

Read and post comments

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to One, two

  1. Emjay says:

    How did it go?

  2. Purplesque says:

    It was alright. My attending went so far as to say I had a few 'elegant constructs', whatever that means.

  3. Scott says:

    Wait, you're not going to disclose your insecurities to your patients? Then what else is there to talk about? πŸ˜‰
    I think I'd be scared too. But it sounds like a fascinating job. Congrats on the milestone!

  4. Purplesque says:

    Lol…they have very bad names for therapists who take the patients' money to talk about themselves!

  5. Don't worry. You must have been great. Knowing that you're scared is already a good sign. So many therapists have lost that insecure feeling that comes naturally to us human beings. Good luck to your future sessions!

  6. Lakshmi says:

    CONGRATULATIONS. So, does this mean you have arrived?

  7. Emjay says:

    Well, congrats on getting through it – any comment with "elegant" in it can only be good! πŸ˜‰

  8. Purplesque says:

    Thank you..I had not thought of that at all! You are right..:)

  9. Purplesque says:

    Oh, I wish! This is just part of training. Interesting to note that while we are allowed to prescribe meds starting from day one, therapy is not started until third year. I'm starting early in my second year because its an area of 'special interest' for me.

  10. Purplesque says:

    πŸ˜€ Thats what I assumed. Of course, when he asked me to explain the 'elegant construct' further I completely messed it up.

  11. Zotta says:

    Great news! I think you'll be wonderful!

Leave a Reply

