The colors of spring

Orange and green. Mixed in my head with memories of green ashoka trees and orange dupattas.

From this recipe, more or less. I used cilantro instead of thyme, omitted the onions and used fatfree milk instead of half n half.  Also, I finally got to use the new Better than Bouillon  vegetable base for stock. Verdict- its a keeper. Excellent flavor, easy to use, and much better than the icky-flavored stock cubes.


Our first fruit and nut tabouli came from Didi Emmon's Vegetarian Planet. It was a wonderful recipe, with orange segments and walnuts. Since then, I've made tabouli with all sorts of fruits, including oranges, apples, pineapples, grapes, even mango! Ditto for nuts..you can go crazy with this recipe and still end up with something good.

Fruit and nut tabouli

– 1/4 cup bulgur, soaked in boiling water for 15 minutes, drained
– 1 bunch parsley, processed/chopped fine
– segments of one orange
– 1 granny smith apple, peeled, chopped
– 1/4 cup pine nuts, toasted in the microwave (2-3 minutes)
– a handful of mint, chopped fine
– 2-3 tbsp lemon juice
– salt to taste
– 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil (optional)

Squeeze the bulgur to remove all excess water. Mix together all the ingredients, refrigerate for an hour and enjoy!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The colors of spring

  1. lauowolf says:

    One of those Great Cook's secrets:If you stop using bouillon cubes in everything, things stop having that same too-salty icky flavor.(And the "100% juice" manufacturers could learn the same secret about white grape juice making all the juice blends too sweet, sigh.)This sounds great.

  2. Purplesque says:

    True..I try to avoid bouillon completely, using either homemade broth or water. Standard cubes lend everything a 'sameness' that is not at all pleasant.

  3. Emjay says:

    I am reading this after having yogurts for lunch – I am truely drooling here. I think I will keep these recipes! I like cilantro (coriander) better then thyme & I never use stock cubes … I'm one of those old fashioned people who make thier own stocks!

  4. chingching says:

    wow !!!! I wish I can marry you……. or have you as a sister

  5. Nyght says:

    Your photography is lovely! The food always looks so good, the colors so bright and fresh.

  6. Purplesque says:

    πŸ˜€ Something tells me cilantro is an all-American word as well. Back home, both the fresh and the dried variety were called coriander (fresh, seeds or powder). Making your own stock..and you said you didn't cook! I've made my own stock at times..but mostly I go by the philosophy of using enough veggies and spices so that plain water is all I need for soup.

  7. Purplesque says:

    Thank you. Now I'm wondering if I can use that for leverage with my husband. πŸ™‚

  8. Purplesque says:

    Thank you..I suspect its the prowess of the camera more than the photographer's. πŸ™‚

  9. Lakshmi says:

    What on earth is "bulgur"?P, if ever you decide to quit psychiatry, you would make a very successful chef.

  10. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ There are days when I want to do just that.Bulgur is a middle eastern durum wheat cereal, a LOT like dalia. They can be used interchangeably.

  11. Wow, the photos look amazing! The tabouli looks especially appealing. I'm not even a tabouli fan. Wonderful! I'd like to dig in now. πŸ˜›

  12. M-----l says:

    Vegetarian Planet is one of only two cookbooks I own. Didi Emmon's has a great restaurant in Cambridge called Veggie Planet. I stop by every time I'm in Boston. Good stuff…and there's a cat that lives there.

  13. Purplesque says:

    Tis' true. With all the hoopla about vegetarian food, I'm surprised she did not get more press. I like her style; it would be fun to eat at Veggies Planet and compare the originals with imitations I make at home.

Leave a Reply

