Weekend delight- fresh green chickpeas

I remember my parents bringing in a whole green bush from the market, leaves and all. Somewhere in the bush, there were lots of green chickpeas in pods. The bush was thrust in the hot clay tandoor as it was, and we would find perfectly roasted chickpeas in the ashes a few hours later. They were sweet and smoky and everything good.

Finding fresh chickpeas still in their shells at the International market made my day.

They were so pretty. We roasted them in the oven with some sesame oil and lemon juice.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Weekend delight- fresh green chickpeas

  1. julie says:

    Really cool picture. Oh yummy! did you roast them with the shells on?

  2. Great photos they make me hungry! What camera do you use, our photos are so wonderful?

  3. Emjay says:

    Great photos ….. you are gradually converting me …..! :-)It is interesting to see them in their natural raw state – I don't think I have ever thought of them as being in pods.

  4. OMG, these chickpeas look movingly beautiful! I've never had fresh chickpeas yet. It looks like I'm missing out a whole lot! Very pretty photos.

  5. Purplesque says:

    Actually, no. Shelled them, put them in a pie dish with the oil and lemon juice at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes. Yum.

  6. Purplesque says:

    Thank you. I use a Nikon D40 with a regular 18-55mm lens. Yesterday, I read through part of the manual (finally!!). These photos were taken on manual setting, with a wide aperture.

  7. Purplesque says:

    :DFor the record, that is Not my intention.

  8. Purplesque says:

    If you find them, grab them..they are great straight out of the pod, or in a salad with tomatoes, cucumbers and lemon juice.

  9. So is this your first experience with the manual setting? You photos look like you are a pro! Why not submitt to the Photo Quest for Rule of Thirds?

  10. Purplesque says:

    Thank you! I would love to submit these for the photo quest..do I need to email them to you?

  11. To be true to this weeks quest of the Rule of Thirds. Read the instructions and you might want to crop the photos to fit the ROT a bit more. Then post to your blog and at the bottom of the create screen there is an section to add to a group. Click on that and you will see a drop down menu of your groups, pick Photo Quest and save and you are done. If you haven't joined Photo Quest yet you would have to join to post your photos.
    Let me know if you need any help.

  12. i was about to ask you what camera do you use, when i saw that somebody else beat me to the punch. i've been wanting to buy a new camera since last summer, but keep putting it off for financial reasons…. sigh.

  13. lauowolf says:

    These look wonderful.I had no idea you could find these fresh.Lovely pictures too.(Must go see if I can find some.)

  14. Purplesque says:

    Thank you..off I go!

  15. Purplesque says:

    Oh, I know. We bought the D40 even though the newer D40x was out because it was more budget friendly. There is a deal on the D40 at slickdeals.com if you're looking.

  16. Purplesque says:

    🙂 I hope you find them!

  17. I'm excited to see your entry!

Leave a Reply

