Sunday brunch

Batata poha, an old carb-freak standby. Beaten rice flakes cooked with vegetables and tempered with mustard seeds, curry leaves, turmeric and green chillies.


Confession- I love my poha with ketchup.
More shameful confession- I love lots of things with ketchup.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sunday brunch

  1. Nyght says:

    I am constantly amazed that 1) you have time to cook and 2) the incredible stuff you cook. I am a carboholic and this looks awesome.

  2. julie says:

    My friend has a shirt that says "I like ketchup on my ketchup". Perfect for you.This looks delicious. I'm going on a rice flake hunt now. BTW, I sprouted my first batch of chick peas. Thanks so much for the encouragement. šŸ™‚

  3. Purplesque says:

    Thank you. I'm so used to cooking everyday that it just fits into the routine. Its doing the dishes which is a problem. šŸ™‚

  4. Purplesque says:

    Lol..I would like that shirt. Rice flakes/poha/chivda are easily available in Indian grocery stores. Yay for sprouted chickpeas! Did you enjoy them?

  5. haha, you're one of those ketchup people!! b eats ketchup with everything. i bet A loves your cooking.re your comment– no worries, i simply had an appointment with a pcp for the first physical i've had in years. just wanted to get that tachycardia worked up (see post on fidgetosis). thyroid panel and hemoglobin/hematocrit all pending…

  6. It looks like a very nice dish. I love margarine on things, I mean a lot of margarine on a lot of things, maybe the same as your ketchup love. Sometimes I wonder why I don't just drink oil from the bottle straight up. šŸ˜›

  7. Purplesque says:

    lol..I see your point.Is margarine the same as earth balance/smart balance? I graduated straight from butter/ghee to olive oil, but there is a tub of earth balance in the fridge that is unopened.

Leave a Reply

