When all else fails..

Dear God,

Please teach me to deal with people who do not like to work and instead devote their attention to petty political moves and backbiting. I'm afraid that my parents did not teach me this very important skill, and now I feel sort of helpless. I cannot spend the rest of my life (any of it, actually) running away from sneaky people and the situations they put me in, so please show me how to be strong and call them on their acts of deviousness, all without being rude and making enemies.

Thank you.

Read and post comments

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to When all else fails..

  1. julie says:

    Power to ya girl!

  2. Aubrey says:

    You have to be strong, in order to show them up and get them to clean up their act! You won't be rude – it's not in you to be so – and if you make any enemies, it will be the very people you punching into shape. And if that's the case, one of two things will happen:
    1. They'll realize their deviousness and errors and thank you for waking them up.
    2. They'll stay your enemies in which case who cares! They're devious and don't appreciate you efforts – let 'em stew!

  3. Karen Lynn says:

    I am so glad I am out of the rat race. I wish I had some advice for you. Hugs, Karen

  4. Emjay says:

    I have also wished for this type of guidance. I tend to avoid confrontation at all costs and find it easier to burst into tears than to stand up for myself in the workplace (now that is pathetic!).

  5. Oh, gosh. Been there, hated that, too. Never quite got the hang of it, so no advice except be YOU. YOU is GOOD. The times I managed to patiently and calmly "fight back" worked pretty well. Never got easy, though. ((((workhugs))))

  6. Purplesque says:

    Thank you, its the 'showing up' part that I have trouble with..but I'm determined to try.

  7. Purplesque says:

    Hugs are good, too. And just putting it out there on Vox helps.

  8. Purplesque says:

    Yep..I'm getting better at the crying, though, if at all, it is done when I'm back home and being comforted by that noble soul, aka the husband.
    I no longer feel pathetic, though..this is just the way I am. It still beats being manipulative and conniving, don't you think?

  9. Purplesque says:

    Thank you for the hugs. My goal is to ignore it as long as it is not hurting me or others, and then to be able to take a stand quietly. And finally, not to stew over it!!

  10. Lakshmi says:

    It takes all kinds to turn this world. What we need to pray for is fortitude to ignore what we cannot change, strength to change what we can and wisdom to know the difference.And this too shall pass…

  11. Purplesque says:

    Words of truth. πŸ™‚ Thank you.

  12. aah! i've been upset for a few days too about the VERY political environment of our department… i have to re-program my brain to be careful at all times and to trust NO ONE, which goes against my natural instincts.

  13. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ So thats what it was. Will you please go ahead and start feeling good again so that I can do the same?

  14. Nyght says:

    I've worked with some real meanies and when it became apparent that nothing would change them, I found myself coming up with elaborate daydreams about how they would get their comeuppance. It didn't change the situation, but it changed my outlook and consequently made me calmer and happier. Sounds weird, but imagining someone in the throes of full-fledged public humiliation was some serious positive therapy for me! (I'm a b!tch, yes)

  15. Purplesque says:

    I would hardly call that being a bitch. Good 'imagination therapy', maybe. πŸ™‚

  16. May God give you strenght. I strongly believe in karma. What comes around goes around. Try to be firm and steady. I know it's hard when we're faced with such people. But imagine it's a test for you and you know everything will turn out to be OK in the end. It's an unpleasant process but you will feel fine soon. We do our best and the rest is up to God. Those people will face the consequences of their behaviors one day. I hope everything works out for you.

  17. Olivia says:

    totally using this as my everyday chant! I hear ya!!

  18. bee says:

    hugs to you. the things is, when you call the narcissists on their deviousness, you will become their enemy. not that it should matter to you.

  19. Purplesque says:

    Thank you. I'm trying to do just that, and beginning to feel fine already. πŸ™‚

  20. Purplesque says:

    πŸ™‚ I'm a little surprised (and a lot heartened) by the number of people who identify with the feeling; makes me feel much better, knowing that I'm not alone!

  21. Purplesque says:

    Thank you. That seems to be the trouble; I have too much innate resistance against making enemies. Trying to modulate that part of my nature is hard work, but I'm trying!

Leave a Reply

