Library Loot

I hate 15-minute downtown parking. It gives me barely enough time to rush inside, drop my books off at Returns, run down through the fiction section pulling off books at random, check them out and return back to the car. After all these years, I still refuse to make a list of books to be read, going simply by interesting looking titles/cover blurbs. To read all those blurbs, I need more time, parking people!

Blurb for Paradise Postponed– Imagine a novel by Trollope seasoned by a smidgen of Nabokov, and you'll have some notion of the joys…

I ask you, how could I resist? They even used the word notion, which is my favorite word in the whole world.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Library Loot

  1. They look like they'll be WONDERFUL — "random" seems to work fine!Libraries are cool — think of all the eyes that have flitted across those page, and brought those stories and musings into other peoples' minds….neat!

  2. Olivia says:

    hahaha @ "notion"

  3. Emjay says:

    LOL – judging a book by its cover! I tend to do that too – though I try not to. I usually open a page at random and read one sentence. If it seems "loopy" I don't choose the book – unless it has a fabulous cover 🙂 I reckon notion is a funny word! LOL – I think "reckon" is even funnier!

  4. Purplesque says:

    Yes..though, I had to give up the first Wodehouse I picked because it was smeared with Unidentified Yellow Stuff that always makes it to the insides of old books. 🙂

  5. Purplesque says:

    It really is my favorite word. 🙂

  6. Purplesque says:

    Lol..I do the same thing, except I pick out books that seem loopy enough.Notion..a word full of whimsy..it brings bedtime stories and little childhood projects to mind..and I like 'reckon' too!

Leave a Reply

