Home-made sprouts..

..are easier than we think.

What beans need to sprout-
– Air
– Water
– A little bit of warmth

 Most whole beans that I sprout (mung beans, black-eyed beans, moth, adzuki) take anywhere from 48-72 hours. The sprouts are really short, but I recently learned that short sprouts are actually healthier and packed with more nutrients.

Here's what I do.

DSC_0001
DSC_0003-2


– Rinse the beans well.
– Place them in a wide bowl.
– Add water till they are covered with about an inch deep layer.
– Keep them partially covered- with a lid or a thin piece of muslin.
– As the sprouts absorb water and swell up, keep adding more water.
– After about 24 hours, they might begin to get a little slimy. At this point, I rinse them again and add fresh water.
– At about 48 hours, you should start seeing small sprouts.

Lots more cool info here.

For Julie.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Home-made sprouts..

  1. julie says:

    Thank you so much for the informative post! Looks much easier than I had thought. I've seen the tilted jars with a screens on the top, but with your method I can just use things I have around the house. Very cool. Can't wait to try. I'll let you know how it goes. 🙂 Thanks again. You rock!

  2. Purplesque says:

    Thank You for making me move my lazy butt to the kitchen and soak them..now we'll have a healthy breakfast/snack on Wednesday! I used mung beans and red adzuki beans.

  3. This is really informative! I'd love to sprout some beans. Thanks for sharing this.

  4. Emjay says:

    I remember doing this at school – though not for which subject. It was fun though to see the sprouts actually sprouting! .

  5. Purplesque says:

    I must confess I find the process of sprouting as much fun as I do eating them!

Leave a Reply

