Sunday Brunch


Fresh muesli is absolutely my favorite breakfast, easy to put together, yummy, healthy, and can be made in several different ways to suit your taste and pantry supplies.

Today's Version

– 1 cup rolled oats (I used old-fashioned)
– 1/2 cup bran flakes
– 1 large ripe banana, chopped
– 1 apple, chopped fine/grated
– 1/2 cup blueberries
– 1/4 cup dried apricots, chopped
– 1 tbsp raisins
– 1/4 cup toasted crushed walnuts
– 1 cup fat-free vanilla yogurt
– 1 cup milk
– 1 tbsp honey

Mix it all up the night before and keep in the fridge. It is usually ready within 4 hours, and keeps getting more delicious through the next day. You can substitute any combination of fresh fruit, dried fruit, nuts, flavored yogurts..this is Good stuff. And the only dishes involved are a big bowl with a lid and a spoon.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunday Brunch

  1. LeendaDLL says:

    You're killing me! (even though I already cheated on my bland diet and had chicken, chips & avocado yesterday).If we were neighbors I'd make the same offer I did to a previous neighbor – I'll pay you $xx a week if you just make a little extra of all your meals and pass the leftovers my way.

  2. Purplesque says:

    Thank you for the pretty compliment! Muesli is pretty bland, though, shouldn't it fit your diet requirements? Glad to hear Moshi is okay.

  3. Emjay says:

    That frittata looks fabulous!! Here I am trying to hang out another hour to dinner without nibbling – I KNEW reading your blog was a mistake! 😉 BTW I saw those funky "plasticy" muffin baking trays today – they sure don't look like they should go in the oven! I was surprised at how flexible they were.

  4. Purplesque says:

    Lol..yes, I did a lot of research; silicone is completely heat safe! So far, I've only used the muffin tray and the silicone sheet..they are fabulous! I don't have to pre-grease them, and nothing sticks!

  5. LeendaDLL says:

    It might. But I really wanted the frittata. Since I actually read the recipe, I thought I might try making the muesli (though, knowing me, it will stay intention instead of action).thanks for the 411 on the silicone trays. i haven't worried about their safety but have wondered if they're as fabu as people have implied. if i ever decide to take up baking again, i'll have to get some.

  6. What a wonderful meal!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

