Of plants and food..

A brought home a living basil plant from the grocery store. So of course we went ahead and planted it instead of making a salad. Now I'm sitting here wondering whether it will take root or not.

I hope it does, a green heart should count in the absence of green thumbs.

I finally found tempeh in this city! Yay!!

I was afraid it would taste like sour tofu; instead, it has a very pleasant nutty, earthy taste. Much better than tofu, in my opinion. The last time I went on a tempeh-hunt, the lady at the International Store handed me three styrofoam tubs, which actually contained horrible mucus-y soybeans, aka natto. Warning- do not try natto at home, unless you like to eat stinky slimy things (No disrespect intended.)

We made spicy tempeh nori rolls.

Brown rice is not half as photogenic as its white cousin. These are the white rice rolls I made the last time.

While not as pretty, the brown rice maki rolls still made a wonderful dinner.


Okay, so the sparkling grape juice wasn't such a bright idea. I'll stick to water the next time.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Of plants and food..

  1. Aubrey says:

    There's a lovely restaurant in Ventura called 71 Palm (that's the address), it's housed in an Arts and Crafts style home, almost 100 years old. They serve buckwheat crepes stuffed with tempeh and spinach, and topped with a chunky tomato sauce. A little too tomato-y for me, but still very fine.
    A live near a Whole Foods market, and they sell a tempeh salad which I also find rather irresistable.

  2. Purplesque says:

    Both the restaurant and the crepes sound tempting. I am definitely a tempeh convert. P.s. I did not know where Ventura was until I just googled it. If I ever move to the West Coast, it will be because of the food. 🙂

  3. julie says:

    While not as photogenic, I still love the way brown rice sushi tastes. Your set up looks very romantic 😉 I see somebody is having a pre-valentine's day dinner.

  4. Purplesque says:

    Lol..entirely accidental, I assure you. I was trying to take pictures in different light settings, and candlelight came to mind..

  5. Karen Lynn says:

    Beautiful presentations, both the white and the brown rice. Knowing there isn't any raw fish inside your rolls, well, that is sushi I WOULD eat!! (I won't touch the stuff you get in a restaurant).

  6. Purplesque says:

    Raw fish..eww. The first time I ate vegetarian maki rolls, though, I loved them. I think they were asparagus-almond.

  7. Olivia says:

    What a beautiful table setting! Such a romantic monday you had!

  8. Emjay says:

    Does nato smell as "bad" as what they call "stinky tofu" in China?
    You dinner table looks divine! How beautiful and romantic.
    And, I hope your basil plant takes root and thrives. I am hoping to start a herb "tub" when I get back from Australia – so I will be looking for hints in April.

  9. i LOVE tempe! i grew up with it. my favorite way of eating is when my mom fried it. then we'd dab it in sweet soy sauce (which is kinda hard to find, the best one is indonesian, "kecap manis (sweet sauce)".

  10. Purplesque says:

    Thank you..it sure was fun.

  11. Purplesque says:

    It wasn't so much the smell of natto that bothered me..it was the slime, hanging down in strands as you lifted up a spoonful, and you could feel it on your Tongue..eww! After my Limburger experiment, I hardly remember any other stinky food. :)Herb tub..how wonderful. We really need to move to a place with more sunlight.

  12. Purplesque says:

    Hmm..maybe I can look for it in the Asian store. Planning to marinate the other block of tempeh in soy sauce and spices and bake it for sandwiches..will see how that turns out.

  13. Such lovely pictures! The basil plant– I've rooted cuttings – just taken little branches and put them in water — I'm mentioning this in case you do decide to eat it– you can always keep a piece and root it……

  14. Purplesque says:

    Thats a great idea..I'd never heard of rooting basil cuttings, though I've done that with mint. Thanks! The plant(s) seem to be doing well, it had been cloudy/rainy for the last couple of days, but the sun is out today and they still look healthy. I hope they live!!

  15. Oh! sunshine is so nice for them!I'll put nearly anything in water to see if it will root. An awful lot of stuff does, that doesn't seem like it would..

Leave a Reply

