Indian ‘Chinese’ fried rice

The bastardized version, in which the only thing Chinese is the soy sauce. This bowl has famously rescued many on cold winter nights, when the only food in the hostel mess is some mucus-y vegetable curry and plain rice. A bowl of rice is borrowed, an onion and a pepper or two are gathered, and the rice is fried in a saucepan on the electric room-heater. It is washed down with strong coffee, and we settle down for another night of studying.

You can use any vegetable that would go in a stir-fry, such as onions, bell peppers, mushrooms, bean sprouts, baby corn, bamboo shoots, carrots, cabbage..all vegetables should either get fried at high heat or stay crunchy. The goal is to avoid steaming them.
 
Ingredients-
4 cup vegetables of your choice, julienned/slivered
3-4 cups cooked long-grain rice (about 1 cup raw)
2 tbsp sesame oil
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp rice vinegar
salt and pepper

– Heat oil in your widest skillet/wok. When it starts to fume, add the vegetables and stir-fry on high for a couple of minutes.
– Add rice, soy sauce, vinegar, salt and pepper. Stir-fry for another couple of minutes.
– Serve hot.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Indian ‘Chinese’ fried rice

  1. Karen Lynn says:

    I've been pacing around the kitchen trying to decide which side to prepare for dinner and I have a box of white rice sitting on the counter. I don't have all the ingredients (vinegar, sesame oil). Off to get creative.THANKS :)) glad I sat down! You inspired me!yummmm your presentation is lovely as usual!

  2. Karen Lynn says:

    um there's been a glitch. i stood up, went to the kitchen and realized i don't have that much energy…well, there's always tomorrow. and for tonight it shall be a roast and salad, and i will just enjoy looking at yours :))

  3. Purplesque says:

    Like you said, there's always tomorrow. 🙂 I never had sesame oil in college; any old cooking oil will do. And the vinegar can be subbed with a squeeze of lime/lemon juice. The weirdest thing I ever saw added to 'fried rice' was soy protein nuggets marinated in soy sauce..I'm too chicken to try that variation!

  4. Lakshmi says:

    I echo Karen. I was breaking my head about what to make for dinner today. You solved it.

  5. Karen Lynn says:

    Was it as good as it looked? I'm going to try it tomorrow. Tonight I have dinner with the Breast Cancer Support group ladies…DH and stepson will be fending for themselves 🙂

  6. Purplesque says:

    That's good..we aim to please. 🙂

  7. Purplesque says:

    Oh, good..I hope y'all have fun!It was quite yum..not spicy, but just good.( Manchurians would have been a great accompaniment, but we don't fry things here in these parts). I used peppers, mushrooms and carrots in the beginning and added cabbage at the very end for crunch.

  8. Karen Lynn says:

    We Love spicy. DH is from New Mexico and grew up on a diet of chili's! I learned how to cook his favorite foods from his Mom the first year we married, and have acquired quite a taste for heat :))What do you use to spice it up? (the rice) lol :))

  9. Purplesque says:

    Ah, I have the perfect solution for you. Add a hot green pepper, chopped, with the bell peppers..Anaheim, jalapeño, Thai birds..you can use the hottest one you like.A grew up on traditional Indian fare and Loves heat; I can hardly bear it. So we compromise with hot pickles and chutneys. He tries real hard to make his food less hot, but I end up with a runny nose sometimes when he cooks!

  10. Karen Lynn says:

    A runny nose to a "hot" chef is a compliment, just as a loud belch after dinner is to Mom. Seriously though, the stuff in peppers that makes you have olfactory reactions (capsacin?) its cap- something, its very healthy! Myself, I can handle japs and the hot green and red peppers, but I draw the line there. I cannot handle eating habenero. DH on the other hand…he's like A, the hotter the better!I know some of the Indian peppers would be out of my heat tolerance levels :))

  11. Purplesque says:

    Lol..they recently discovered a new Indian pepper thats supposed to be the hottest in the world..Naga Jolokia. NJ and I share the same initials..it causes my husband a great deal of amusement.Capsaicin also supposedly helps you lose weight..I wish I could eat more of it! My tongue disagrees..how do you taste food when all your pain endings are on red-alert?

  12. Karen Lynn says:

    Capsaicin also supposedly helps you lose weight..I wish I could eat
    more of it! My tongue disagrees..how do you taste food when all your
    pain endings are on red-alert?not only that, but the next morning…aye!

  13. Purplesque says:

    Lol..revenge of the chili pepper.

Leave a Reply

