Apple-bran muffins

I love muffins. As far as I'm concerned, muffins are just cupcakes without the icing, and they can be eaten for breakfast, evening tea, snack..anytime at all. This recipe, adapted from the super veganomicon, is also disgustingly healthy and has only about 140 calories per large muffin.

Ingredients:
1/2 cup milk
1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar
1/2 cup applesauce
1 tbsp canola oil
1/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup oat/wheat bran
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup dried apple pieces/raisins

– Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
– Mix together milk and vinegar and let stand for a minute. Add applesauce, oil, sugar and whisk together.
– In another bowl, mix all the dry ingredients except raisins/apple pieces.
– Mix the dry ingredients into the wet; add raisins and fold.
– Pour into greased muffin pan and bake for 20 minutes.

Makes 6 muffins, and you can double the recipe (I halved the original).

I used my silicone muffin pan, and did not even have to do any pre-greasing. The whole thing took 30 minutes in all..amazing!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Apple-bran muffins

  1. paulsroom says:

    Your recipes and certainly the obviously successful results in the photographs look wonderful, and I'm going to try some. For my information how many ounces in a cup measure and how many fluid ounces in a cup measure? I know that an English pint is 20 fluid ounces, whereas an American pint is 16 fluid ounces—that's right isn't it? One pound is still 16 ounces isn't it?

  2. i eat muffins every day for breakfast! it wasn't my choice at first… the line for hot food is just way too long in the cafeteria and my break time is extremely short. muffins were quick to grab and easy to eat on the run… i have grown to like them though. 🙂 just wonder how bad they are for my health.

  3. Aubrey says:

    These muffins are stunning – and studded with all kinds of good things! I wonder…can a muffin recipe be made into a cake recipe? Would there be a change in cooking times? I've often wondered this, especially around Thanksgiving/Christmas, when baking time is nigh.

  4. Emjay says:

    I always seem to read your posts when I am a long time from eating! No matter what you have presented I get hungry – it always looks so good. How do you have time to do all these recipe interpretations?

  5. Purplesque says:

    Thank you! As far as I know, 7 fluid ounces in a cup and the solids would vary..for all purpose flour, it would be 4 oz..not sure about bran. One pound is still 16 oz..:) That is the one measure which I have most trouble remembering..I still think in metric!

  6. Purplesque says:

    I've done that, too..chocolate chip muffins with yogurt for breakfast. Not the best diet for sure. In general, the less tempting it looks, the healthier it probably is. 🙂

  7. Purplesque says:

    You definitely can, and I've done it before..it makes sort of a low fat cake. The baking time increases, and I just go by the old 'poke it with a toothpick which should come out clean' method. For a 12 muffin recipe, you could try baking it at 375 degrees for 25-30 minutes.

  8. Purplesque says:

    Thank you! I guess we make time for things we like, and I like to cook. Plus, it helps me relax, and these days I need to relax quite often..:)

  9. *sniffs* Yummm. And they look great too. I love putting the applesauce in — I sometimes do that with cake mixes. mmmmmmmm and those spices!!!!!!!!!

  10. Purplesque says:

    Thank you! I lurve applesauce..its yum and it helps me cut back on the fat!*Does a little dance with spatula in one hand and muffin in the other*

  11. bee says:

    that is a super awesome cookbook. and the muffins look lovely.

  12. Lakshmi says:

    Send me your address. I shall visit you at the earliest possible opportunity. someone who bakes muffins for snack deserves my visit.

  13. paulsroom says:

    Metric equivalent would be even better. I have a set kitchen scales with both metric and imperial weights. I still use pounds, pints, etc. but the UK is supposed to be Metric now. We drink pints of beer but buy litres of petrol (very expensive this way), buy litres of juice but pints of milk—all very mixed up!

  14. Purplesque says:

    Thank you! I love Isa and Terry.

  15. Purplesque says:

    I most definitely will. We can have tea and muffins, discuss our dreams and talk about chemistry. Such fun!

  16. Purplesque says:

    Everything in India is metric, except wool, for some reason, which you buy in ounces. But you're right about the mixed up part! I'll try and post metric equivalents of this recipe. I tend to use volume, though, except for very precise baking and such.

  17. paulsroom says:

    Actually it's okay. I have rediscovered a metal cup measure that my mother had brought back from America at one time. So I presume that I simply measure both dried and wet goods in this.

  18. Purplesque says:

    That would be perfect! I have heard people say that separate measures should be used for solids and liquids, but see no logic behind that. Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

