QotD: Can’t Do Without…

What food item would you miss the most if it were removed from your diet and recipes? 
Submitted by scorpion1116.  

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to QotD: Can’t Do Without…

  1. Zotta says:

    You sound very generous. I did some work in Greenwich Village with seniors.And God knows my own 97-y.o. grandmother is a bit lonely after her second orthird stroke. I think she's shooting for 100. She likes Kipling's poems, "If" and "Mandalay". What I think mus tbe hard abotu old age is when your contemporaries start to die off and then it's hard to find someone who sharesyour cultural references. For instance, let's say I'm 90 y.o. and my nephew has no idea what I mean when I sing, "Let's sit right back and you'll hear a tale…."

  2. Purplesque says:

    Exactly..imagine me, a twenty-something Indian exchange visitor trying to interact with a ninety-something white rural American! And thats where they amaze me the most, because we end up having these wonderful conversations. I face far more unknown cultural references when I speak with American colleagues my own age..its definitely odd. Maybe the senior folks are smart enough to know what I wouldn't know and they keep the conversation safe..

  3. Zotta says:

    Sounds like you're doing a great job, purplesque!

  4. Purplesque says:

    lmao..was I fishing? If so, my apologies..just came across that poem in the morning and it set me off.I'd like to be around to wish your grandmother a happy 100th via vox!

  5. Zotta says:

    Purplesque, no of course you were not fishing. I think you were sharing!And thanks! How sweet of you to want to wish my grandmother a happy 100th; I don't know if she'll make it. She's been at death's door, with the familyon the edge of its seat, for at least five years, some say ten. Unfortunatelyher computer is no longer web-enabled or really used much. But I would bemore than happy to print something out!

Leave a Reply

