QotD: I Don’t Mean To Brag, But…

Do you have an unusual talent that you are ridiculously proud of?  If so, what is it, and why the smug look on your face? 

Submitted by mo.

I can read Fast.

That is not quite unusual, but when I tested my reading speed it came out at 793 words/minute. Thats unbelievable, according to this test. The other test, however, put it closer to 650. And a third test (did I hear you say obsessive-compulsive?) between 600 and 670.

Whatever. I'm going to practice my smug look in the mirror.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to QotD: I Don’t Mean To Brag, But…

  1. Lakshmi says:

    I clocked in 705 minutes. Not bad, huh?

  2. Purplesque says:

    Not bad at all. Are you a thorough reader or a skimmer? I must confess, I tend to skim unless its a really good book, gathering only relevant information.

  3. Lakshmi says:

    SKIMMER SKIMMER SKIMMER. I merely pick up all the keywords, but sometimes, thats all we need to understand whats written. Right?

  4. Purplesque says:

    Yes, and that is known as skimming. Picking up the keywords. 😀

  5. Vijay says:

    Wow. I'm impressed ladies. I read at around 450 – 500 wpm. I make all the mistakes that are mentioned in the first test. This is a challenge to my obsessive-compulsive mind. I've got the tests bookmarked for trying out later.

  6. Purplesque says:

    Mistakes? Why didn't I see those? Guess I was skimming. 🙂

  7. Vijay says:

    The mistakes are NOT mentioned in the text of the speed test. The common mistakes that slow down one's reading are mentioned at the end of the test, or in the next page of your first speed test link. Things like mentally pronouncing the words, going back to see if you missed something, etc,.

Leave a Reply

