Irresistible

One hundred percent edible googly eyes

by Oskay, via Flickr CC


..and the Flying Spaghetti Monster.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Irresistible

  1. Lakshmi says:

    Umm.. I don't think so. I mean the edible part. BTW, what is the bubble for eyes made of? Looks like soap to me.

  2. Purplesque says:

    Oh, ye of little faith! Its the chopped off end of an empty gelatin capsule. You can apparently buy them in bulk in 'health food' stores, not that I ever would.Unless, of course, I had a sudden urge to build hundreds of hundred percent edible googly eyes.

  3. Lakshmi says:

    And when that happens, warn me in advance. I will stay clear of vox until the pictures disappear into the abyss of archives.

  4. Purplesque says:

    Oh, c'mon..aren't they cute? They even have peanut butter corneas..imagine how they would melt with a smoky glance.I think I'm in love.

  5. Lakshmi says:

    I am staying off peanut butter until the effect of your comment wears off.

  6. Purplesque says:

    But remember, the eyes will haunt you. They will beseech you with long spaghetti arms, melting away..Oh, alright. Um going to bed.

  7. Lakshmi says:

    I am not reading it.. La la la la la la la laGood night.

  8. LeendaDLL says:

    hundreds of hundreds of edible googly eyes allows for hundreds & hundreds of edible FSMs.i'm sure i could find a holiday in my copy of "The Gospel of the Flying Spaghetti Monster" that would warrant the consumption of edible fsms. What better way to be touched by his noodly appendage?

  9. Purplesque says:

    Ah, finally a fellow believer! Or we could make a temple and have annual FSM festivals, allowing hundreds to be touched and saved.May the FSM be with you.

  10. LeendaDLL says:

    I get a kick out of being in the office and having people stop me with, "I just figured out that the car with the FSM plaque must be yours!"It may just be them figuring it out because of the hours they see the car, and the odd hours that I work. But I always take it as a compliment on my personality, ("I just figured out that you're the fun/cool person at the office!").Too bad I lack pirate regalia – so I can't preach the gospel.Btw: I read that we have a holiday called Holiday. It runs from the beginning of Dec to end of Jan. So, Happy Holiday(s)!!

  11. Lakshmi says:

    purplesque, LeendaDLL, I was unaware that the FSM was actually a serious religion worthy of a wikipedia post. Thank you for educating me.

  12. Purplesque says:

    Please be the fun/cool person at MY office; we could use some relief around here. Happy Holiday to you too!

  13. Purplesque says:

    Vox as an educator has some serious merits, I tell you. (Calling the carb-freak in Lakshmi, "Come, join the Pastafarians! Its the only way to carb heaven.")

  14. Lakshmi says:

    Perhaps when you come to India, you could bring me the pirate regalia. I have converted to Pastafarian.

  15. Purplesque says:

    Yay!! I will being you pirate regalia, loads n loads of pasta and the complete theory of Flying Spaghetti Monsterism.

  16. LeendaDLL says:

    so glad to read that you've been touched by his noodly appendage. now you, too, know to spend Fridays (they're all holy) enjoying pasta, beer, and stripper factories!!

  17. Purplesque says:

    Touched by his noodly appendage..Somebody get my mind out of the gutter.

  18. paulsroom says:

    I think that this a dish to give people whom you don't want to call again for supper! Either that or have it a pre-cinema film when going to see Men In Black! But messing around with food should be fun. If you made it out of green spaghetti and just one eye, then it would be an Italian/Greek dish—Gorgon spaghetti! When I was a kid, I used to mix up my Wheetabix (UK cereal) with hot milk and make dessert islands, then imagine I was a pirate looking for buried treasure—ah, the innocence and adventureousness of childhood!!

  19. Purplesque says:

    Gorgon spaghetti..I like that idea. As a kid, I would always split my stuffed roti (flat bread) into two layers, and eat it 'after taking its clothes off.' I now realize I was the only one who didn't find that funny.

  20. paulsroom says:

    I always like to give my foreign visitors a taste of British food and Sherry Trifle is my favourite. However I sometimes like to get them worried by announcing that we are have Toad-in-the-Hole with Bubble-and-Squeak for the main course, followed by Spotted Dick with custard for desert (pudding). This is really good solid home cooking—although a bit high on the calories. There's also nothing like a good traditional English breakfast to give you the energy for a hard working day!

  21. Purplesque says:

    Now those names would be enough to make me lose my appetite! Of course, the actual sight of the dishes might bring it back. What are they?Back in school, we would often describe a mess staple as 'potatoes with mucus'. It deserved the name, though, and we never ate in the mess when PnM was on the menu.

  22. paulsroom says:

    Well when we used to get Sago pudding at school, we would refer to it as Frog's spawn, because it just looked like that.
    However Toad-in-the-Hole is a genuine dish that you would be able to see on the menu of any restaurant or pub selling traditional English food. Essentially it is a Sausage pudding. A light batter made of flour, milk and eggs which when made right rises very high. That part you could refer to as the Hole and the Toad are sausages that are incorporated in the mixture. Usually served with gravy, boiled and/or roast potatoes and two other vegetables.
    Bubble and Squeak is a dish made of mixed leftover vegetables, mainly cabbage, but anything else that is available.
    Spotted Dick is the real killer when trying to scare foreigners about British food. It is nothing more than a steamed sponge pudding containing currants. Usually served with custard. Some recipe books are more sensitive to its name and call it Spotted Dog. This is a very popular pudding and the trend these days for some country pubs to return to these favourites. All the supermarkets sell this pudding readymade.
    Although these meals sound heavy, really if they're made right, they should weigh you down—provided you have moderate portions.

  23. paulsroom says:

    Sorry I meant they shouldn't weigh you down!!!

  24. Purplesque says:

    Frog's spawn..now you've put me off sago pudding forever!I like Bubble and Squeak, though. There are several meals in my household which could be called that.Spotted Dick reminds me of Wodehouse, somehow.

Leave a Reply

