Monday night eats

My standard way of dealing with stress is cooking up a storm.

Mysteriously simple tomato soup

I tweaked the Veganomicon's recipe here, adding carrot and sweet potato for the sweet creaminess. If you like your tomato soup with a hint of sweet, this is perfect!

1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp dried thyme, oregano, rosemary each
1 carrot, diced
1 medium sweet potato, diced
4 cups water
1 cup sundried tomatoes, soaked in warm water, then chopped
1 can (15 oz) crushed concentrated tomatoes/tomato sauce
salt and black pepper to taste
cilantro/parsley for garnish

– Heat oil in a soup pot. Add the herbs, carrot, sweet potato and saute for a minute.
– Add water, sundried tomatoes and bring to a boil. Cover and simmer until the potato is tender.
– Add the tomatoes, salt and pepper and bring to a boil again.
– Puree as much as or as little as you like. I just run a hand blender through it once, leaving some chunks in.
– Garnish with cilantro and serve with bread.
– Serves four as soup, and two if you want to make a meal out of it.

And for dessert, baklava. This recipe is so wonderful I want to weep.


I will Never buy Baklava again, at least not in this city. A and I had a piece each, then he had another. I promised him that I would mail the rest to a friend.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Monday night eats

  1. Emjay says:

    This would be divine in a sourdough roll! Might have to have a go at this – I even have all the utensils required! 🙂

  2. Purplesque says:

    Thats exactly what we had it in..a combination made in food heaven.

  3. Lakshmi says:

    Umm.. could that friend be me? Please?

  4. Aubrey says:

    "I promised him that I would mail the rest to a friend."
    I am your friend.
    I am your DEAREST friend.
    Please send me food.

  5. Very interesting recipe.. beautiful composition :)Margot

  6. Purplesque says:

    Lol…I would love to. The baklava, unfortunately, is promised to a friend In the MA area, but send me your address anyway. I have a feeling there's lots of baklava in my future.

  7. Purplesque says:

    Lol..thank you, I'll take that as a compliment. This lot is promised, but I promise to come bearing gifts of the food kind when I get back home.

  8. Zotta says:

    That tomato soup recipe looks great! Nice of you to share these recipes, too.Have you ever read Ruth Reichl's youthful food memoirs? She was food critic for the NY Times, then editor of Gourmet, but started out, I think, in San Francisco. Her autobiographies are very compelling, like a fine novel.

  9. Purplesque says:

    Yep..I read Garlic and Sapphires, where she went around in disguise for the sake of the anonymous review, donning not just wigs and strange dresses but also personalities. Much fun.Thanks for reminding me of that one.

Leave a Reply

