Things I hate

Facebook. Whats the grand idea anyway? I have 12 pending requests at this time, asking questions such as-

– Are you a hottie?
      – Yes, thank you. There are no doubts in my head.
– What fruit are you?
      – I am not a fruit. I'm a human being. I like being a human being. If I eat you, will you go away?
– Are you lovable?
      – Yes. Its my middle name.
– Which f.r.i.e.n.d. (from the TV show) are you?
      -  I don't know what to say to this. Why is this even supposed to interest me?
– Predict your future
      – No thank you. I pay my tarot lady well, and she even gives me a free massage.
– Find your perfect match
      – I did. Three years ago. And I don't intend to try again.

Its moronic. I'm always afraid of turning these down, because they might show up in my friends' inbox as 'Ping! Purplesque refused your invitation!'. So they lie in the corner, collecting dust. I hate them.

 If I do find an interesting enough application, it will never show me any results until I forward a request to at least twenty people. I never do, and so I still don't know 'Are you left-brained or right-brained'?

And lets not even talk about the pokes, hugs and gifts.

Is the presence of a few good friends reason enough to maintain this account that attacks my sensibilities every time I log in?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Things I hate

  1. Bookmole says:

    No. I have a Facebook account so I can see what Daughter is up to, in Brighton. Interesting stuff. But I have no other Friends there at all. I find the site hard to navigate (and I am not technologically backward, thanks!), dull, and cannot see what people see in it.Don't even get me started on Twitter!

  2. dewitte says:

    Excellent – now I don't have to write this post myself. I don't get Facebook. It's like myspace for older people. Whenever I log in, there's all this "stuff" going on and poking and someone writing on my wall, etc. Last time I got a note that someone wrote on my superwall and then it took me five minutes to find my superwall to see "hi!" written on it. Geeze – just send me an email.

  3. Emjay says:

    I am obviously "blog challenged" – I only have this Vox one and have never looked at Facebook or any other. I barely have time to write & read here.

  4. Purplesque says:

    Don't worry about it, Emjay, Facebook is not a blog, but more and more a social network for the intellectually challenged. I can see why kids might enjoy it, but in my late twenties, I'm increasingly ashamed of my continued presence on Facebook. Happy Voxing!

  5. Purplesque says:

    Exactly! I never thought of joining twitter, but reading others' is a necessity at times.

  6. Purplesque says:

    Yep..I was saved from the superwall, but now I have a funwall that people keep posting corny videos on; and it takes up all my space! Time for some web-presence clean-up..

  7. dewitte says:

    I was thinking that too, but I'm trying to keep my foot in the tech door. I think I'm just going to remove some of the applications.

  8. Zotta says:

    It's a minefield! I say leave it to seniors…until they realize it's not very private.

  9. Karen Lynn says:

    I believe I heard Barbara Walters say she had a facebook page…or maybe that was myspace. Who knows? (or cares) In any case, if she's not old enough, twentysomething can't be too old :))

Leave a Reply

