QotD: Best Book of ’07

What's the best book you read this year?

The best thing about this book ( and its phenomenal sales record) was that it reassured me that I have kindred souls all over the world. There are people who care about grammar. My own writing (for example, this blog) is full of errors, both grammatical and syntactical, but thats besides the point. I CARE. When my eyes stray repeatedly to an errant apostrophe, I realize that I'm not alone, even if I do have a personality disorder. It feels a lot better.

The great feelings of harmony and peace aside, the book did answer some sticky questions about grammar that I forgot to ask about in school. Its not a handy reference, being written in a more-or-less loose style, but definitely a book that begs re-reading.

Read it, even if you don't buy it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to QotD: Best Book of ’07

  1. Emjay says:

    I concur! I bought this book solely for the byline: The Zero Tolerance….
    I hate bad punctuation – though like you, my blog is full of grammatical horrors! (but surely the point of a blog is to relax all those rules a little).
    Sometimes I have issues with the differences between "Queen's English" and "American English" but basically the "rules" are the same.
    I am amazed at some (MOST) of the resumes I see coming into our office – they are horrifically written and punctuated and I would not give an interview to them – if I was in the position to interview people! If I was …. our company would have very few employees!

  2. Purplesque says:

    Likewise..sometimes I worry that too much importance on words might get me into trouble, and it has. Correct grammar and a well-written letter does not really reflect the worth of a person; but my 'Queen's English' preconceptions are hard to get rid of.

  3. Lakshmi says:

    Thank you for the tip. This book will find place in our book shelf during our next Landmark trip. Queen's English is a bane of "convent" education in India. It took me many years of practice to be able to substitute bombastic three-or-more syllable words by simpler equivalents.

  4. Purplesque says:

    I agree..the good thing about the Indian 'convent' English is that it works as an asset here in the United States, and probably in the rest of the world. Several people have told me I speak great English, while I'm convinced Sister Celestine (My English teacher in 8th grade) would disown me as her pupil if she heard me speak! (Or much worse, read this blog.)p.s. Only one exclamation mark, two brackets and no smileys. How's that for progress?

  5. Lakshmi says:

    You are getting there. I am going the cold-turkey route. Hope I last.

Leave a Reply

