Spanakopita

Inspired by my new neighbor, I finally took the phyllo plunge.

  Our dinner, served with a snap pea-carrot-apple salad.

I basically followed her recipe (see link above), but had to modify the stuffing to suit the contents of my fridge.
– Heat 1 tbsp of olive oil
– Add 1/2 an onion, chopped fine. Saute.
– Add 2 lb frozen spinach, thawed and part-cooked in the microwave. Saute some more.
– I ended up adding a small hunk of home-made cottage cheese, 2 cubes of cream cheese, and a 2 oz piece of high-risk havarti. Only because we had no feta.
– When the mixture appears cooked and not too wet, add salt, pepper and some chopped parsley.

I also used a mixture of olive oil and butter instead of butter, and got by with 5 tbsp in all.

It was absolutely yummy. The bottom and top layers of phyllo were actually too buttery/oily (probably because I didnt use only butter). So methinks I can actually use even less next time, and lessen the guilt factor.

Thanks, Jen, for the great recipe. I'm planning to make a phyllo dessert with the leftover sheets, next. 🙂

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About purplesque

Psychiatrist, cook, bookworm, photographer. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spanakopita

  1. Jen Rizzo says:

    It looks fantastic! I'm glad you played around with it – we've been using the traditional recipe for so long that I've always felt like a bit of a heathen changing it around. I take grief from my relatives for adding cream cheese to it instead of using just feta, if that's any indication of how seriously they take it.

  2. Purplesque says:

    I can imagine; and I'm sure the traditional version tastes great. The half cottage cheese half feta idea sounds good..thats the way I'll try it the next time!

  3. scorpion1116 says:

    This looks wonderful. I think I had some in Toronto, in a section called Greektown. I was in southeastern Ontario visiting my long-distance honey, and decided to meet and visit an online friend for the first time. Her family was Greek, and she invited me to a restaurant in Greektown called Mezes. After dinner we walked the blocks of stores, bakeries and other retail places, and she bought me some of this – the Spanakopita. She told me I had to try it, that it was de-lish! It was! I ate it on the drive back to Lansdowne, but could never remember the name of it. I'll never forget the taste and looks of it though. Good stuff, and yours looks "de-lish", too!

  4. Purplesque says:

    I'm such a sucker for Greek food. And Ethiopian food. And Indian food. And Italian…is there a Foodie's Anonymous?

Leave a Reply

